A Song for My Ian

Oh my Gosh! The last time I’ve composed a poem was more than a decade ago. And today, I wrote about the greatest love story of my life. And not only that, I made it into a song!

This piece is dedicated to my late husband. Thank you for coming in to my life and for showing me the true definition of love.

I better buckle up, stretch my vocal cords and sing my heart out!

A Song for My Ian

Verse 1
You came to my life when I was broken
You picked me up and made me whole again
Each day with you was filled with happiness

Chorus
You’ve made me believe, true love does exist
God has blessed me and answered my prayer
You’re His greatest gift, my precious treasure
My best friend, my all, my love forever

Verse 2
But one morning came, you’re no longer there
An angel arrived and took you away
I was in deep pain, grief was in the air

Chorus
You’ve made me believe, true love does exist
God has blessed me and answered my prayer
You’re His greatest gift, my precious treasure
My best friend, my all, my love forever

Verse 3
Thanks for sharing your life, your love with me
Every day was full of joy and laughter
You’ve completed me, emptiness was gone

Chorus
You’ve made me believe, true love does exist
God has blessed me and answered my prayer
You’re His greatest gift, my precious treasure
My best friend, my all, my love forever

Verse 4
I’ll smile, I’ll live my life thanking you
This is not goodbye, this is not the end
For my heart will continue to love you

Chorus
You’ve made me believe, true love does exist
God has blessed me and answered my prayer
You’re His greatest gift, my precious treasure
My best friend, my all, my love forever

Coda
This is a song for my Ian
You were God’s greatest gift
My love forever

fb_img_1470658640214.jpg

Papa Ian O’Neil and Yuki

Leave a Reply

